Wildlight Elementary Teacher Whitney Jones named Nassau County Teacher of the Year 2020

State Senator Aaron Bean, newly-selected Nassau County Teacher of the Year Whitney Jones, 2019 Nassau County Teacher of the Year Jessica Watkins, Nassau Education Foundation Board President Brandy Carvalho, Superintendent of Schools Dr. Kathy Burns and School Board Chairman Donna Martin at the announcement of the winner at the Night of Stars Gala on January 10, 2020 at the Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island.

On Friday, January 10, 2020, the Nassau Education Foundation held its sixth annual Teacher of the Year Gala at the Ritz-Carlton, Amelia Island.  Florida Senator Aaron Bean, Superintendent Dr. Kathy Burns, Nassau County School Board Chair Donna Martin, Nassau Education Foundation Board President Brandy Carvalho and outgoing Nassau County Teacher of the Year, Jessica Watkins announced Whitney Jones, second-grade teacher at Wildlight Elementary, as this year’s winner.  Jones will go on to represent Nassau County in the selection process for the 2021 Florida Teacher of the Year.

Hosted by the Nassau Education Foundation, the gala serves as the foundation’s largest fundraiser. Since its inception in 2015, the organization has awarded over $500,000 to all schools throughout the district.  Funds raised are used to provide classroom grants in every school.

“The caliber of teachers in Nassau County is immeasurable and the dedication to our students is overwhelming,” said Abby Bean, executive director for the Nassau Education Foundation. “We are grateful to our sponsors, donors and attendees for helping us to continue our mission and for making the evening a memorable one for our teachers.”

Jones began her teaching at Yulee Primary, where she taught for five years before joining her current team at Wildlight Elementary School two years ago.  She serves as the second-grade team leader and grade level chair, providing instructional leadership in curriculum planning and development. She also leads her colleagues in implementing effective teaching strategies, planning standards-based lessons, and preparing students for third grade.  Jones is also on her school’s Action Plan Team that is instrumental in creating a plan to help the lowest quartile students make their learning gains. In addition to collaborating with her second-grade team, Jones wrote a grant for a school-wide project entitled “The Leader in Me.” Through this project, every staff member participated in a book study focused on creating a leadership culture and teaching students how to individually track their academic goals through personalized data notebooks.  Clearly, Jones has not only impacted student outcomes in her own classroom, but in the classrooms of other colleagues at Wildlight as well.

In her district packet, Jones shares her philosophy of teaching: “I find that no matter who the student is or what their life is like outside of school, they will work hard when they are shown love and respect.”   She also defines her role, illustrated through these words: “I am called to serve my students as they look to me for encouragement, guidance, and compassion.”  There is no greater joy than to know I made a difference in a child’s life.”

Besides Ms. Jones, the other finalists include:  Heather Drury, Callahan Intermediate School; Lee Ann Brubaker, Hilliard Elementary School; Ashley Murray, Yulee High School; and Patrick Schinella, Yulee Middle School.

The additional eleven school Teachers of the Year are:  Natalie Faucher, Bryceville Elementary School; Michelle Barnes, Callahan Elementary School; Stephanie Lundquist, Callahan Middle School; Katherine Sicotte, Emma Love Hardee Elementary School; Evelyn French, Fernandina Beach High School; Heather Stefanski, Fernandina Beach Middle School; Marella Hunter, Hilliard Middle-Senior High School; Carol Ann Young, Southside Elementary School; Jennifer Helbert, West Nassau High School; Kellie Jones, Yulee Elementary School, and Toni Webber, Yulee Primary School.

The selection of the Nassau County Teacher of the Year is part of a state-wide program sponsored by the Florida Department of Education.  Locally, each school selects a nominee for the county-wide award, and each of those 16 nominees must submit three essays, a resume, and a lesson plan.  They are also video-recorded teaching a 20 to 30-minute lesson. The five finalists are identified and announced by Superintendent Dr. Kathy Burns and must then complete two additional essay questions and participate in an interview by the selection team.  The winner selected represents the district as a nominee for the Florida Department of Education Teacher of the Year. Since 2006, Nassau County has had three state finalists and one state winner of the Florida Teacher of the Year.

Superintendent Dr. Kathy Burns, 2020 Teacher of the Year Whitney Jones and School Board Chairperson Donna Martin.

Link to photo gallery from the 2020 A Night of Stars Gala: https://photos.app.goo.gl/dMFPp5YjhtYGzRn2A

About the Nassau Education Foundation

The Nassau Education Foundation (NEF) is a not-for-profit corporation whose mission is to provide funding opportunities and support initiatives that enhance public education, recognize teachers and inspire students to excel. Working in conjunction with the Nassau County School District and directed by a voluntary Board comprised of business, education and community leaders, our vision is to see the community united to maximize the support for public education by providing funding that gives all students the advanced skills and knowledge needed to compete in the 21st-century economy. In five years, the Nassau Education Foundation has donated over $500,000.00 to Nassau County Schools, its teachers and students. For more information, visit www.NassauEducationFoundation.org or call 904-753-0299.